Dambai College of Education has organised an orientation programme for all newly-recruited staff. The orientation programme which was organised specifically for all staff appointed by the College from the year 2020 and 2021, took place on Friday, 14th January, 2022. The purpose of the programme was to help the new staff familiarize themselves with what it entails to work in Dambai College of Education; for that matter, the College of Education in general.

The Principal of the College, Dr. (Mrs.) Benedicta Awusi Atiku gave her welcome address and asked the newly appointed staff to feel at home even as they give off their best to maintain the good image of the College. She briefly highlighted the history of the College of Education today which was formerly known as Teacher Training College. According to her, the Teacher Training College began as a Post-Secondary and Certificate-Awarding Institution. By the years 2003 to 2004, it metamorphosed into a Diploma-Awarding Institution, and the first batch of Diploma students completed at the end of the 2007/2008 academic year.

Dr. (Mrs.) Benedicta Awusi Atiku further explained that the 2008 Act, Act 778 requested that post-secondary institutions should be given a tertiary status. This move continued through to 2010/2011 academic year and by 27th June, 2012, Act 847 gave full tertiary status to all Colleges of Education in Ghana during the era of Professor John Evans Attah Mills (the President of Ghana at that time). She concluded by saying that formerly, there were 38 Teacher Training Colleges in Ghana, but now we have as many as 46 Colleges of Education affiliated to five (5) public universities namely: University of Cape Coast, University of Education -Winneba, University of Ghana-Legon, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, and University of Development Studies.

Presenting on the history of the College, the Acting Secretary of the College, Mr. G.K.Charles Wumbei indicated that Dambai College of Education was established on 18th October, 1974 under the leadership of the first Principal, Mr. Busumprah. The 13th (current and first female) Principal of the College is Dr. (Mrs.) Benedicta Awusi Atiku. According to him, the logo of the College with the ‘Sankofa’ design is significant. He explained that at the time DACE was established, government was closing down some colleges and turning some of them into Secondary Schools (hence, Sankofa means ‘going back’).

The Vice Principal of the College, Mr. Frank Awuah in his speech explained to the new staff that there are three categories of staff in the college namely:

  • Senior Staff A – who are generally master’s degree holders and tutors;
  • Senior Staff B – non-teaching staff members with a minimum of first degree; and
  • Junior Staff members who are generally below first-degree level of education.

Mr. Awuah went further to talk about the duties expected to be performed by the new staff members as well as the dos and don’ts of the noble institution. He finally impressed it upon the new staff to be guided by the 19 policies of Dambai College of Education which can be found on the College’s official website.

Other speakers during the orientation programme for the newly appointed staff included the Finance Officer of the College, the Chief Security Officer, the Chief Matron, the Guidance and Counselling Coordinator, the Chief Librarian, Union Leaders of academic and non-academic staff as well as leaders of the College Welfare Association.

SOURCE: DACE Editorial Board


SOURCE: DACE Editorial Board


1. Godwin Gaaku ─ Chairman (Board 1)

2. Anita Avevor – Chairperson (Board 2)

3. Godwin Attitsogbui – Member

4. Samuel Xenyo ─ Member

5. Davidson Teye Kabutey ─ Member

6. Alfred Adams ─ Member

7. Ernest Kafui Agbemenyah ─ Member

8. Innocentia Polley ─ Member

9. Francis Bismark Vifa – Member

10. Jallu Zakariya – Member

11. Michael N. Mampah – Member

12. Emil Amedzro – Member

Leave a Reply